Friday, 10 June 2011

Ayurvedic treatments

Ayurvedic Disease Management (Chikitsa)

The traditional Ayurvedic treatment of healing has eight essential components.

1.Find out the person's prakruti(constitution)
2.Find out the vikruti(the present altered state of the doshas in the body)
3.Find out the cause or causes of the illness, such as diet, lifestyle, emotional patterns, quality of relationships, genetic predisposition and so on.
4.As the first line of treatment, remove the cause.
5.Provide the proper regimen(diet,exercise,pranayama, etc) according to the person's prakruti , vikruti, seasons, climate, age and so on.
6.Provide a detoxification procedure : either palliation (shamana) or elimination (shodana, such as panchakarma)
7.Provide rejuvenation (rasayana) for the body in general, to increase immunity and to strength specific organs and tissues.
8.Provide therapies that are (1) antagonistic to the provoked dosha and (2) antagonistic to the disease, based on the principle that opposite qualities balance.

Diagnosis and Treatment

Ayurvedic first-aid treatment are effective if you first do a careful, discriminating diagnosis to determine whether the condition is vata, pitta, or kapha. A specific treatment, for a specific type of condition, will be beneficial.

On the other hand, if you do not take the time to diagnose carefully, the treatment may not be appropriate, and consequently you will not get the desired result. So before deciding on an Ayurvedic line of treatment, look carefully at the physical signs and symptoms that will help you determine whether it is a vata, pitta, or kapha illness or condition. Then chose the recommended treatment.

No comments:

Post a Comment