Friday, 10 June 2011

Ayurveda body type or Ayurveda doshas

The three doshas(Vata, Pitta, Kapha)

The sanskrit term 'dosha' is the method of diagnosis, disease prevention and treatment. The fundamental goal of Ayuvedic practice- whether aiming to prevent or treat an illness - is to maintain or restore your own specific and innate doshic balance via a combination of diet, lifestyle and natural remedies.

What are the doshas?
The five elements form the basis of three biological humours or doshas:
Vata is composed of air and ether
Pitta is composed of the fire element with some water
Kapha is composed of earth and water

These three doshas govern all the psycho biological functions and physical features of our mind and body, including our appearance, mental state, memory, digestive capacity, processes of waste elimination, individual likes and dislikes, as well as dictating which diseases we are most susceptible to.

To understand how the doshas work- be able to identify our own specific doshic constitution and how to keep this in balance- we need to know the core qualities and functions of Vata, Pitta and kapha, as well as their inter-relationship with the passing of time, such as the various stages of life and changing seasons.

No comments:

Post a Comment