Thursday, 16 June 2011

Ayurveda : Body , mind , soul

As a science of self-healing, Ayuveda encompasses diet and nutrition, lifestyle, exercise, rest and relaxation, meditation, breathing exercises, and medicinal herbs, along with cleansing and rejuvenation programs for healing body, mind , and spirit. Numerous adjunct therapies such as sound, color, and aromatherapy may also be employed. 
Ayurveda is a Sanskrit word means " the science of life and longevity" According to this science, every individual is both a creation of cosmic energies and a unique phenomenon, a unique personality. Ayurveda teaches that we all have a constitution, which is our individual psychobiological makeup. 
From the moment of conception, this individual constitution is created by the universal energies of Space, Air, Fire, Water and Earth.
These five elements combine into the three fundamental energies or doshas. Ether and air constitute vata, which is the energy of movement; fire and water constitute pita, the principle of digestion or metabolism , the transformation of matter into energy; and water and earth make up kapha, the energy of structure and lubrication. When the male sperm and the female egg join at the time of fertilization, the vata-pitta-kapha factors from the parents's bodies that are most active and predominant at the moment, due to the season, the time, the emotional state, and the quality of their relationship, form a new individual with a particular constellation of qualities.
According to Ayurveda, our life has a purpose. Simply stated, that purpose is to know or realize the Creator(Cosmic Consciousness) and to understand our relationship with That, which will entirely influence our daily living. This great purpose is to be achieved by balancing four fundamental aspects of life dharma, which is duty o right action; atha, material success or wealth, karma positive desire; and moksha, spiritual liberation.These are called the four purusharthas, the four great aims of achievement in the life of any individual.
The foundation for all these facets of life is health. To maintain dharma and carry our duties and responsibilities to ourselves and others, we must be healthy. To have creative, positive desire, we need a healthy mind and consciousness. 
Ayurveda is the mother of all healing system. From its eight principal branches(pediatrics, gynecology and obstetrics, ophthalmology, geriatrics, otolaryngology, toxicology, general medicine and surgery) have come the main branches of medicine as it is practiced today, as well as many modern healing modalities including massage, diet and nutritional counseling, herbs remedies, plastic surgery, psychiatry, polarity therapy, acupressure and acupuncture, color and gem therapy and meditation.
Love is the essence of our life. 

No comments:

Post a Comment